Top in-state juniors selected for all-star game

Teams for the second North-South all-star football game in December have been selected, according the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).
The game will again feature high school juniors, following the pattern of all other current Sports Week all-star games. The game had featured graduated seniors since its inception in 1948 until the last December's contest.
Terry Curtis of UMS-Wright Prep School and Rush Propst of Hoover High School have been named head coaches for the South and North teams, respectively. Both have their teams alive in the current football playoffs.
Curtis and Propst will be coaching in this contest for the first time, although both have coached previously in the Alabama-Mississippi all-star game that is played annually in Mobile in June. Also, Curtis guided UMS-Wright to Class 4A state championships in 2001 and 2002 while Propst's Hoover teams have won four of the last five Class 6A titles.
Joining Curtis on the South staff will be David Lowery of Brantley, Clint McCrory of Red Level, Larry Ware of Carver-Montgomery, Randy Ragsdale of Trinity, Jackie O'Neal of Reeltown and Ron Nelson of Central-Phenix City. Tommy Goodson of Prattville is the administrative coach.
Propst's assistants on the North staff are Larry Strain of Woodland, Randy Sparks of Wadley, Danny Adams of Winfield, Lymos McDaniel of Hubbard, Michael Jackson of Buckhorn and another to be named. Gregg Baker of Prattville is the administrative coach.
The all-star players, who will report to Troy Dec. 19, were selected by members of the Coaches' Football Committee along with the coaching staffs of the two squads.
North members are:
Defensive Backs: Kyle Otte of Buckhorn, Corteza Allen of Hewitt-Trussville, Sidney Cochran of Fayette County, Fredrick Gray of Gadsden and Derek Daniel of Fairfield.
Linebackers: Andrew Traylor of Mountain Brook, Dee Clark of Sheffield, Brock Peters of Central-Florence, and Herschel Houston of Cherokee County.
Defensive Ends: Patrick Thomas of Etowah, Alex Mason of Fairfield and Corey Meadows of Moody.
Defensive Linemen: Justin Sanders of Buckhorn, Robert Benefield of Woodland, Sean Dailey of Hewitt-Trussville, Kerry Murphy of Hoover and Darrius Jackson of Fairfield.
Quarterbacks: Zach Smith of Susan Moore and Ross Wilson of Hoover.
Running Backs: Jacquez Pride of Athens, Rico Sharpe of Hewitt-Trussville, Dennis King of Hoover and Terrance Wilkes of Wadley.
Wide Receivers: Justin Diliberto of Spain Park, Josh Maclin of Butler, Sam Edwards of Clay-Chalkville, DeMarcus Covington of John Carroll and Corderius Christopher of Gadsden.
Offensive Lineman: Ryan Pugh of Spain Park, Taz Tillery of Russellville, Austin Hayes of Cedar Bluff, William Vlachos of Mountain Brook, D.J. Looney of Oak Mountain, Justin Cardwell of Moody and Caleb Thomas of Decatur.
Kicker: John Nyquist of Cullman.
South members are:
Defensive Backs: Harris Brown of Montgomery Academy, Ricardo Bates of Prattville, Michael McNeil of Davidson, Ferson Stafford of Central-Phenix City and Phelon Jones of McGill-Toolen.
Linebackers: Jeffrey Daniels of Brantley, Jonathan Beasley of Jeff Davis, Eltoro Freeman of Benjamin Russell, Justin Byrd of Washington County and Terrance Thomas of Eufaula.
Defensive Ends: Cortney Ray of LaFayette, Sidell Corley of McGill-Toolen, Brandon High-Dorsey of Auburn, Nicholas Gentry of Prattville and Darnodo Smith of Carver-Montgomery.
Defensive Line: McKale Hughley of LaFayette and Nick Fairley of Williamson.
Kicker: Blake Richardson of Fairhope.
Quarterbacks: Roosevelt Byrd of Foley and Larry Smith of Prattville.
Running backs: Corey Hart of Loachapoka, Ron Belser of Carver-Montgomery, Joseph Wilson of Opelika and James Hall of Murphy.
Tight end: Omar Keon Stewart of Central-Phenix City.
Wide Receivers: Zack Shaw of Trinity, Stanley Jones of Houston Academy, Nathanael Carlson of Briarwood Christian, Tyler Robbins of Homewood and Marquez Strickland of Opelika.
Offensive Linemen: Jason Adams of Foley, Michael Turner of Davidson, Jared Cooper of W.S. Neal, Weston Thomas of Lee-Montgomery, Henry Porter of Opelika and Harold Powell of Carver-Montgomery.
The intra-state contest, with a 2 p.m. kickoff Dec. 23 at Troy University's Movie Gallery Stadium, will be televised on a statewide cable network with WJXS-TV 24 of Jacksonville as the flagship station.
This marks the second December date for this in-state game, which had been played as a part of the annual All-Star Sports Week held each July until 2004 when renovations to Montgomery's Cramton Bowl forced the move to Troy. Then the 2005 summer game was moved back to December of last year, also at Troy.