Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 11, 2008

Te'o-Nesheim receives five awards

SEATTLE - Junior defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim earned several of the most prestigious honors, including the Guy Flaherty Award, at the Husky football team's postseason awards dinner. The dinner, which included coaches, players and family, was held Thursday evening at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Te'o-Nesheim, from Waikola, Hawai'i, was also named the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Defensive Player and won both the John P. Angel College Club Outstanding Defensive Lineman of the Year (for the second year in a row) and the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Awards. The Flaherty Award, named after its first winner in 1908, is Washington's oldest and most prestigious individual award.

Sophomore wide receiver D'Andre Goodwin (Pacoima, Calif.) was named the team's offensive MVP while sophomore linebacker Mason Foster (Seaside, Calif.), who finished the regular season as the Pac-10 co-leader in tackles, won the defensive MVP award.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Te'o-Nesheim was also honored as two of the team's four captains, along with seniors Juan Garcia (Yakima, Wash.), Michael Gottlieb (Mercer Island, Wash.), and Johnie Kirton (Everett, Wash.).

Goodwin also won the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Player Award for the offense while linebacker Chris Stevens (Mojave, Calif.) won the Special Teams Most Outstanding Player Award for the second straight season.

Also for the second straight season, Garcia won the John P. Angel College Club Outstanding Offensive Lineman while junior fullback Paul Homer (Omaha, Neb.) took home the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award for the second year in a row. Kirton was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to senior receiver Gottlieb on offense while linebacker Donald Butler (Sacramento, Calif.) and safety Nate Williams (Renton, Wash.) shared the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners were receiver Jermaine Kearse (Lakewood, Wash.) on offense and defensive end Everrette Thompson (Renton, Wash.) on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to RS-freshman quarterback Ronnie Fouch (Redlands, Calif.) on offense and Stevens on defense.

Senior defensive back Desmond Davis (Olympia, Wash.) picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Senior placekicker Ryan Perkins (Olympia, Wash.) won the Academic Excellence Award while senior long snapper Robert Lukevich (Seattle) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to sophomore center Gregory Christine (Camarillo, Calif.) while freshman safety Greg Walker (Bellflower, Calif.) was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was awarded to freshman cornerback Adam Long (Los Angeles).

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Stan McDonald, a senior student assistant on the Husky equipment room staff, and Kyle Shoun, a senior member of the video opertions department's student staff.

2008 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim

101 Club Academic Award
Robert Lukevich

Team MVP Award
D'Andre Goodwin (Offense)
Mason Foster (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
D'Andre Goodwin (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)
Chris Stevens (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Michael Gottlieb (Offense)
Donald Butler and Nate Williams (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Juan Garcia (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Paul Homer

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Johnie Kirton

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Desmond Davis

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Gregory Christine

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Greg Walker

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Adam Long

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Jermaine Kearse (Offense)
Everrette Thompson (Defense)

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Ronnie Fouch (Offense)
Chris Stevens (Defense)

Academic Excellence Award
Ryan Perkins

Captains Award
Juan Garcia, Michael Gottlieb, Johnie Kirton, Daniel Te'o-Nesheim

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Stan McDonald (Equipment Room Staff)
Kyle Shoun (Video Operations Staff)

Auburn NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos AuburnSports.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.