Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 1, 2003

White and Clayton become finalists

In a year that has already bordered on ridiculous for accolades and production, the Sooner team isn't done yet. The nation's top pitch and catch combo has been nominated for the awards that define their position. Oklahoma quarterback Jason White was named a finalist today for the Davey O'Brien award which annually goes to the nation's top quarterback. Meanwhile Oklahoma receiver Mark Clayton was named one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff award given to the year's best collegiate wide receiver.

White, who has been nominated for nearly every award possible for a quarterback to win is joined by North Carolina State's Phillip Rivers, and Missippi's Eli Manning. The senior from Tuttle was chosen thanks to an interception ratio of nearly seven to one, and 40 touchdown passes. He is also the nation's leader in pass efficiency.

Clayton the junior from Arlington, Texas is one of three finalists along with Southern California's Mike Williams and Pittsburgh's Larry Fitzgerald. Clayton is fourth nationally in receiving yards per game (104.7) and owns virtually every receiving record in Oklahoma's books.

Both players will have their awards announced at the 2003 Home Depot College Football Awards show on December 11, 2003. The program will be shown on ESPN at 7 p.m. eastern standard time.

Auburn NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos AuburnSports.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.