December 10, 2008

Green Top Freshman

Congratulations are once again in order for Georgia wide receiver A.J. Green after he was voted the Southeastern Conference Freshmann of the Year Wednesday by league coaches.

Green leads the SEC with 951 yards receiving for an average of 79.2 yards per game. He also caught 55 passes including eight touchdowns and is looking to become the first Bulldog to lead the conference in receiving since the late Brice Hunter in 1994. He is the first freshman to lead the league in receiving since 1999.

"Mohamed (Massaquoi) both have around 1,000 yards, you know," Green said Wednesday. "It's a big accomplishment."

Not surprisingly, Florida quarterback Tim Tebow was voted the league's top offensive players while Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry came away with the top defensive honors.

Tebow was also the voted the league's Scholar Athlete of the Year.

The Gator quarterback carries a 3.70 grade point average, earning the honor of 2007 SEC Academic Honor Roll recipient. Tebow was also the second sophomore football player in school history to earn Academic All-America first-team honors in the 2007 season. Thanks to Tebow, Florida became one of only three schools to have a Heisman winner receive Academic All-America honors in the same year.

Other winners include Ole Miss offensive tackle Michael Oher who was selected as the recipient of the Jacobs Trophy, given to the league's top blocker. The Coach of the Year Award wound up being a three-way tie between Ole Miss' Houston Nutt, Vanderbilt's Bobby Johnson and Alabama's Nick Saban.

There were no unanimous selections to this year's individual awards.


Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Tim Tebow, QB, Florida

Offensive Player of the Year

Tim Tebow, QB, Florida

Defensive Player of the Year

Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee

Special Teams Player of the Year

Brandon James, RS, Florida

Freshman of the Year

A.J. Green, WR, Georgia

Jacobs Blocking Trophy

Michael Oher, Ole Miss

Coach of the Year

*Houston Nutt, Ole Miss

*Nick Saban, Alabama

*Bobby Johnson, Vanderbilt

# - Unanimous Selection

* - Ties

...More... To continue reading this article you must be a member. Sign Up Now!